Partry House

Partry House dates from 1667 when it was built on the remains of Cloonlagheen Castle by Arthur Lynch as a dowager house for his mother, Lady Ellis, widow of Sir Roebuck Lynch of Castle Carra.

Good to know

Where
Partry House, Cloonlagheen, Partry, Mayo (Outdoors)Directions
Cost
Check admission price
Ages
No specific child age guidance is stated
Official site

What to expect

Partry House dates from 1667 when it was built on the remains of Cloonlagheen Castle by Arthur Lynch as a dowager house for his mother, Lady Ellis, widow of Sir Roebuck Lynch of Castle Carra.

Evidence of the original castle was discovered during restoration work in 1995 when slit windows opening inwards were found at knee level on the first floor. Old castle walls can be seen incorporated into stable walls.

The one-time islands Moynish, Creegaun and Leamnahaye are linked to the shore by means of the Famine Walk built between the lake and a bog area. This, and the fine limestone shore edging, date from famine times when the Lynchs looked after their tenants providing food and work for them. Two old cast iron pots used to cook cornmeal stand in the garden.

The Lynchs, along with Browns of Westport House and the Moores of Moore Hall, chartered the shop, the 'Martha Washington' to bring corn meal from America for their tenants. There are lakeside picnic areas available.

More information

Listed by
Fáilte Ireland Attractions

Categories

  • Activity
  • Experience
  • Attraction
  • Historic Houses and Castle
  • Tour

Reviews

Loading reviews…

Location

Partry House, Cloonlagheen, Partry, Mayo

Add to which idea list?

Choose where you want to keep this place.

Remove this idea?

Remove this place from the list, or keep it and help another family with a quick review.